Rates   |   Visa e-Z Card Info   |   Membership Application   |   Branch & ATM Info   |   Contact Us   |   Applications & Calculators   |   Reorder Checks
Deposit Services Mortgage Auto & Consumer Loans Business Convenience Services About Us
About Us
One in Our Community
Opportunities for Employment
Holiday Schedule
Contact Us
tell a friend
print this page


As with many credit unions, the roots of their humble beginnings run deep. The same is true of One CU. Below is a brief history of each of the three credit unions that comprise One Credit Union.

Bryant Credit Union was chartered in 1956 serving the employees of the Bryant Grinder Corporation in Springfield, Vermont. As it outgrew the tiny office space of its early days, it was relocated to what was known as the “White House” where it employed 4 people. In 1987 Bryant Credit Union changed its charter to a Sponsor Employee Group and began serving the employees of other businesses and grew to 6000 plus members with several branches and became a major financial provider in the Springfield area.

Champlain Valley CU was chartered in 1952 as the Chittenden County Teachers CU. From 1957 to 1972, business was conducted out of the Melba Masse house, at which time it moved to a one-room office above Henry’s Market in Essex Junction. In 1985 the credit union purchased space in the Towne Marketplace complex where it continues today. In 2005 the name was changed to Champlain Valley Credit Union and with an additional branch in Vergennes, now serves the communities of several counties.

The United Stone Workers Credit Union was formed in April of 1943.  It was originally formed to serve those involved in the granite industry in Central Vermont.  In 1981 the name was changed to the United Worker’s Credit Union.  In 1986 United Worker’s Credit Union merged with Williamstown Credit Union and became United Community Credit Union.  This changed the field of membership to a community charter expanding the field of membership to include people who lived or worked in Washington and Orange Counties.

In 2009 the three CEO’s began deliberations and forming plans to merge the three credit unions into One. With the support and encouragement of the three boards of directors, the merger proposal was put before each credit union’s membership and was overwhelmingly approved. On May 31st, 2010 the new Charter was granted for One Credit Union by the Vermont Banking Department.

The combined experience and expertise of One Credit Union serves to provide our membership with secure, highly competitive products that creates financial security and wealth for each member and their family. These services are delivered by our professional staff in a friendly personable atmosphere you will feel at home in.

One Credit Union  "Today, Tomorrow, Together!"

Site Search:  
Privacy Notice   |   Online Security   |   Site Map   |   Third Party Disclaimer   |   Home

© 2015 One Credit Union. All rights reserved.
1-800-578-5024 Main Office: 380 River Street, Springfield, VT 05156

Web Design & Content Management System by Cambium Group, LLC
Your savings federally insured to at least $250,000 and backed by the full faith and credit of the United States Government.  National Credit Union Administration, a U.S. Government Agency.